California is the latest state to set a deadline for intrastate carriers to use electronic logging devices.
A California Highway Patrol (CHP) spokesperson said that they are planning on adopting an intrastate ELD mandate that would take effect from December 31, 2020, and will impact all intrastate haulers.
The date was mentioned in a presentation delivered at the CHP’s Commercial Vehicle Safety Summit in October, which CHP director of communications Fran Clader later confirmed.
Clader, however, emphasized that the date is tentative.
“The end of 2020 deadline is our current intention and subject to change. We have not started a formal rulemaking process,” Clader said.
“There are many factors that may come into play between now and then.”
If the date is adopted, it would be the latest to be determined for intrastate truckers in a state deemed as one of the two most significant intrastate trucking markets in the U.S.
During the first quarter of this year, Texas updated its Hours of Service code to require intrastate truckers to use ELDs for recording their duty status. The code obliges intrastate truckers to start using ELDs two years from now, specifically on December 19, 2019.
Texas’s intrastate compliance date for ELDs is a good two years later than the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA’s) ELD mandate implementation date — which takes effect from December 18, 2017.
Joe Rajkovacz, Western States Trucking Association Head of Regulatory Affairs, believes that with Texas requiring intrastate truckers to use ELDs, other states would most likely follow suit. Federal rules mandate states to adopt laws for intrastate haulers that are compatible with national laws.
Rajkovacz also said that most states would toe the line, but “there could initially be a few standouts.”
ELD Mandate Compliance Date in Oregon
Oregon, on the other hand, will enforce their intrastate ELD mandate compliance on the same date set for interstate truckers.
David McKane, Oregon Department of Transportation Motor Carrier Transportation Division Safety Programs Manager, put a stop to speculations of a delay in the implementation of the ELD mandate for intrastate truckers.
McKane said, “We have now determined (that) we will be enforcing the ELD requirement on intrastate motor carriers on December 18, 2017.”
According to reports, just like the truckers in California, intrastate haulers in Oregon have a slightly more liberal approach to HOS limits compared to those set by federal regulators for interstate drivers.
In California, intrastate operators can drive for 12 hours within a 16-hour on-duty window, for instance, despite an array of state exemptions for particular commodities.
Meanwhile, Wisconsin and Florida are reportedly considering a delay in the implementation of the ELD mandate on intrastate truckers.
“We have now determined (that) we will be enforcing the ELD requirement on intrastate motor carriers on December 18, 2017.” — David McKane
The closer we get to the ELD mandate’s implementation date, the more statements similar to David McKane’s we’ll encounter from the remaining states.
To make sure that you aren’t caught off guard when the ELD rule is implemented, start looking for a trusted ELD provider to partner with right now, so you can start your ELD transition before it is too late.
The KeepTruckin ELD solution is the easiest and most cost-effective way to ELD mandate compliance.
Disclaimer: This information is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute, and should not be relied upon as, legal or other professional advice. You should not act or refrain from acting based on any materials presented or made available by KeepTruckin without first obtaining advice from a licensed attorney.